Bob Davies Presentation to Million Dollar Round Table, 2011 on Performance Excellence

Bob Davies  High Performance Training, Inc. 20992 Ashley Lane, Lake Forest, Ca. 92630 www.bobdavies.com info@bobdavies.com 949-830-9192

NOTE: My power point slides did not copy to this post. Please send an email to info@bobdavies.com and I’ll send them to you.
Three hour presentation.

Good morning. Good you’re excited, let’s begin.

 Before I begin I have a few nuts and bolts to go over. I’ve got a bit less than three hours to be with you today. I know your industry very well. First, I’m a fan of the industry and a client. I also coach some of the top producers in the industry as well as a top asset protection and estate planning attorney so I get to see your industry from their perspective as well.

 Even though I know the industry very well, I don’t know your individual set of circumstances. Despite that, what do you think the chances are that over the next two hours and 48 minutes that what you’re about to hear about behavioral will have a significant impact in your lives. What do you think the chances are, high or low?

 …[audience shouts high] 

Let me hear it again…

[audience shouts even louder…high]

 Actually it’s very low. It’s very low that this program will go beyond entertainment into impact. Then you might be asking, “why bother?”

The “why bother” is because it’s possible. It is possible that what you’re going to experience in the next 2 hours and 46 minutes can stick, can help you to influence what you pay attention to, to influence your habits. Is it likely, NO. Is it possible? YES and that’s what we’re going for, that possibility.

 With that in mind I have simplified. There is only one take away. This is a behavioral dynamic that you didn’t have when you walked into the room that you will have when you leave. It is this one dynamic that has a chance to be significant.

I’ll ask you to put blinders on and imagine that I’m talking just to you. Imagine that this program is designed just for you. That’s right, I’m your personal one on one coach for the next 2 plus hours. 

 I also want to make a suggestion to your listening to the program. Please listen without judgment. Here’s an example. If I were to say to you that there is a very high correlation between being a decamillionaire and being in a health and fitness program, two thirds of the decamillionaires exercised regularly,[1] and you are not in an exercise program, then to listen with judgment would be to say that you should be in an exercise program.

To listen without judgment would simply to observe that you are not doing something that highly successful people do, period. So no judgment.

Ok, let’s begin. I want to start off by telling you about my first flight in the clouds without an instructor. I was flying from John Wayne airport to a charity organization called Angel Flight in Santa Monica. I was bringing my marketing director. It was forecast to be a 1000 foot ceiling. What this means is that at 1000 feet 100% of the sky is covered with clouds. I was going to be in the clouds.

When I got to the airport it was cloudy. I did everything I needed to do to and then received clearance to hold short of the active runway. Finally the tower called my aircraft. I was hoping they were going to say we’re too busy for small aircraft on this cloudy day and to turn around and go back. They didn’t say that. They said, “cleared for takeoff!”

I rolled down the center line, reached lift off speed and up in the air I went. The higher I got the more clouds, 500 feet 800 feet finally 1000 feet and it was like someone put a blanket over my face at 1000 feet. Here’s what it looked like at 1000 feet.

                                                Let’s take a closer look and here’s what I saw:

The problem with this is that when there is no visual reference you can’t tell what the aircraft is doing. That’s because we have very poor perceptual abilities. Let me show you how easy it is to deceive human perception.

Are these lines parallel or do they slope?                                                        It looks like they are slanting up and down but if you place a                                              ruler under each line you will see that they are absolutely                                         straight lines. You can’t trust human perception. Our           

perceptions are limited. In reference to the black and white squares you can’t trust your beliefs. Here’s another;

Which line is longest? Again, it looks like to bottom line is                                       longer but if you take your ruler you’ll see that they are                                            exactly the same. 

The human senses are limited and you don’t see the true picture until you change what you are in reference to. That is what this one behavioral dynamic that I mentioned to you will do. It will change your reference point.

I remember how nervous I was. I also remember saying to myself that I’ve been in this situation before with an instructor and that I’ve always flown the plane myself. Imagine that my passenger was a flight instructor. What kind of conversation would I be having? My flight instructor would be saying, stay on your system of instruments.

This is what will save my life:

 

I’ll talk about this one circled piece of equipment called the attitude indicator. Just by looking at this one instrument I can tell what the airplane is doing. If I see the miniature airplane in the blue and tilted to the right then I know I am in a climbing left turn. There is no other way that I can know that other than by staying on my system and following the instruments.

There is a reason that I mention this to you. Today I am giving you a system that if you follow it you will have predicable results just like myself as a pilot. I can’t be in reference to the clouds so I change my reference to my instruments. That’s what we are doing today-changing your behavioral reference to a system. This is a system of elite performance. This system will result in three words;

Peace of Mind.

What goes into having peace of mind? There are three parts of your life that must be fulfilled to have peace of mind. They are

  1. health
  2. business
  3. personal

 

If just one of those areas is not fulfilled you will not have peace of mind. So, let me ask you a question. How many of you are at least interested in improving your results in one of those areas? [audience raises their hands]

Who would you say your biggest competitor is to reaching your goals?

 

Is it the economy, the interest rate, the eroding forces on money, is tax issues, pending legislation, regulatory and compliance issues, your clients other advisors, the weather?

No, you are your biggest competitor. This program has two parts. The first part is to identify what does it mean to be my own biggest competitor and the second part is an intervention, a method of competing.

Let’s take a look at human nature. Here is the first aspect of human nature to examine.

The way that you THINK  effects how you FEEL and that effects what you DO.

You and I are going to resist activities that we don’t feel like doing. For example, if you don’t feel like getting up at 3:50 am and going to the gym you’re not going to do it. If you don’t feel like staying on a diet you’re not going to do it. If you don’t feel like reading or getting gas in your car you’re not going to do it.

If you don’t feel like…..

 

Basically my first point says that you and I are going to resist doing activities that we don’t feel like doing.

Many times there are trainers in the room. Trainers ome up to me all the time and tell me that they agree with my first point. I ask them what do they use to enhance the results of their training. The most common response I get back is goal setting.

Goal setting doesn’t work! Goal setting is going to be a part of my recommendations but not by itself. If all you did is set goals here is what you would find;

 

The top line has your goals, your intentions. This is what you want to accomplish, your business plan. There is another word that goes on that line and that word is “potential”. Your potential is not relevant. The only thing that matters is what you actually do-the bottom line!

I want to examine why this happens. You have goals, and you have activities that you want to accomplish. Your goals might include first year commissions, AUM, new house holds, new assets under management, referrals, product goals, qualification goals, carrier trips, MDRT, Top of the Table, etc.

You have activities that you intend to accomplish and implement. For example,

 

You say you are going to prospect, you intend to prospect but you just get too BUSY!

You are all set to prospect and then something happens;

 

You intend to market, to prospect, to set appointments to see clients and you were just Too Busy!

I know is so easy to believe that the truth is that you were just too busy. However, remember my point that you can’t trust human perception. Let me show you another example.

[magic trick-thumb tip for a brief video go to www.bobdavies.com and click on 7 minute video]

I know that it looked like my hands were empty but as you now know they were not. It’s the same thing here. You can’t trust you own interpretation of your circumstances and your observations that you are just too busy. You will have to change your reference.

Since perception is the key, let’s see how perceptions are formed. What is this line, concave or convex?

 

It depends on which side you’re standing. If you’re on the A side this is a concave line. If you are on the b side it’s convex. What’s the truth? The truth is not relevant. The only thing that matters is “does what you’re paying attention to support you in taking the actions that you said you would take?”

I’m going to give you a technique that is so powerful that if all you took away from this presentation is this technique it would be worth your time and money to attend. It’s called the “STOP” technique. Here is what it means. When you thinking is not supporting you simply say STOP and Flip to an opposite point of view. Here is an example.

I say that health is my number one value. I intend to get up at 3:50 am to exercise. I set the alarm. Do I get up at 3:50 am? It depends on which side I’m on. I might be on the a side and say “I’m tired. I’ve worked out 18 of the last 21 days. I need to sleep in”. That might be absolutely true. However, the truth doesn’t matter. The only thing that matters is does my thinking support my taking the actions? So when you catch yourself thinking negatively, stop, and flip to an opposite point of view.

Here is the problem. You won’t do this. It takes too much energy to do so. Our brain is designed to conserve energy. Consider the following; what do you see[2]:

In the first photo you probably see a dog. In the second a triangle. This is left over from evolutionary days. It favors survival to be able to see a pattern and recognize what it is and begin a response long before you have consciously figured out what it really is. This saves energy and favors survival.

Consider this problem:

The most common response that I get is C, can not be determined. Audiences want to know if Jodi is married or not. It doesn’t matter. The answer is Yes. This is an example of cognitive miser. It takes a lot of energy for the outer cortex, the area just above the bridge of the nose and between the ears, to work through this problem, so as soon as it thinks it has a solution, in this case, you need to know if Jodi is married, then it stops paying attention to the problem to save energy.

It takes too much energy to use the stop technique. However, good news, the one behavioral dynamic that I have for you will do the same thing as the stop technique, but automatically and using less energy.

I have a masters degree in psychology[3]. What this means is that I’ve spent a lot of time teaching rats to press down levers to get food.

I want to take you into the laboratory and look at a simple scientific experiment that will help me to explain why this one behavioral dynamic that I have for you will work so powerfully. Here is what we have[4].

 

We have a wooden behavioral box and we place a rat in the center. We open the gates and the rat sees the food to the right and runs to the right. Here’s the next thing that we do. We place a metal grid on the floor and put a shock on the metal grid. This is what the metal grid looks like and this is what the rat looks like. We also place a device on the skull of the rat so we can see in real time how its’ brain is firing when it gets shocked.

We open the gates this time and the rat doesn’t know that there is a shock on the metal grid so it doesn’t pay attention to it. Instead its attention is on the goal, the food. It starts up to reach its goal and gets a tremendous shock. Instinctively it runs over to the other side with the comfortable rags. There is a built in instinct in the nervous systems of all of life called the survival mechanism. This is the part of the brain that is wired to recognize danger and to create the avoidance of the pain for the comfort.

We also are able to see the actual brain scan of when the rat is shocked and how it gets electrical activity in the cortex and the limbic area when it avoids. This is called a cortical limbic loop.

The last thing that we do is remove the shock from the metal grid but leave the grid. We put the rat back, open the gates and what does it do? Here is the question;

W T F ?

That’s right, what’s the focus. The rat focuses on the obstacle, the previous shock and not on the opportunity, the food. We also see the exact same brain scan in anticipation of the shock even though the rat is never actually shocked.

The rat will die of starvation but will not go over the metal grid again. This is called learned helplessness. Where is the pain in sales? It’s the rejection. Why is it so difficult for people to lose weight? Because the activities that they need to do are linked to pain.

When you have an activity that you want to do linked to pain the survival mechanism kicks in and compels you to avoid what is viewed as life threatening pain.

You and I also have built in instincts that compel avoidance and are no longer appropriate. I call this evolutionary debris. Here is an example. Imagine you are out taking a hike in the woods and you see a bear. Immediately your heart rate increases, breathing increases, your blood will leave the extremities and go to your major muscle groups, digestion stops, adrenalin, cortisol are released, you get a shot of endorphins. You get this physiological cocktail where you are ready to fight as strong as you can or run away as fast as you possibly can. This is called the “flight or fight” response. It is absolutely proper for this to occur in the face of danger. But here’s the problem. It doesn’t only occur when your life is really in danger, it occurs anytime there is a perceived threat real or not.

Imagine your driving your car and someone else cuts you off and gives you an obscene gesture. Your heart rate increases, breathing increases, your blood will leave the extremities and go to your major muscle groups, digestion stops, adrenalin, cortisol are released, you get a shot of endorphins but you are sitting in your car. This is not a real threat but you respond as if it was.

Another example of an inappropriate instinctual response is the appestat area of the brain. This is the part of the brain that signals the fat cells to release a hormone called leptin. When leptin is in the body you feel satisfied and stop eating. However, because of evolutionary needs it favored survival to delay the onset of leptin allowing you to eat more because you never know when your next meal is going to happen. However today this is not appropriate because we don’t have feast or famine and there is no evolutionary advantage to delay the release of feeling full.

Let me give you some notes about the survival mechanism. The survival mechanism overrides my desire to _______(reach my goals by taking action) and compels me to _________ (avoid).

However, we don’t notice that we are avoiding the actions that we need to be taking to be successful. Evolution strikes again. Let me ask you three confrontive questions;

  1. how many of you would agree that you know what to do that if you did it in your current set of circumstances that you would be more successful then you currently are?
  2. how many of you would agree that not only do you know what to do but you also are capable of doing it?
  3. how many of you would agree that not only do you know what to do, are capable of doing it but also that you are not doing everything that you could possibly be doing to be as successful as you could possibly be?

 

I appreciate your honesty. I can just feel the love in the room. However, it’s not likely that you are walking around in your lives feeling inadequate about your performances. If you were feeling inadequate how would your self image be, high or low?

That’s right, low. And what mood would you be in with a low self image? (audiences says depressed) Scientists have studied people who have been depressed and they find that there is a decrease in the white blood cell counts. What would happen to you if there is a decrease in your white blood cell count? (audience-get sick)

Our brain is designed for survival, not for prosperity. When you and I are avoiding uncomfortable activities we don’t see our avoidance. As humans we have very limited perception. Don’t worry about these numbers but we are bombarded by 100 million bits of information per second. To put it in perspective we have over 100 billion brain cells each capable of trillions of  interactions. There are over 30,000 brain cells on the head of a pin. However, as humans we have very limited perception. We can’t smell ordors that dogs can. We can’t see images that are visiable to other species. This chart shows how much light is actually visible to humans, the narrow band in the center.

 

We can’t see on the subatomic scale. Einstein would say that this wall is not solid. He would say that there is more space then there is matter but that it is vibrating at such a frequency that is so fast that with our limited human perception we see it as a solid.

 

The closest example I can give you is that of an airplane propeller that spins so fast it looks like a solid plane.

Let me illustrate how limited human perception really is. Have you ever put a pen or pencil in your mouth? Watch what reveals itself beyond the realm of human limits of perception when you increase the magnification of the head of a pin;

 

As you can see there is quite a world beyond human perception. Since our perception is so limited, evolution has taken this small bandwidth of perceptual ability and defaulted it to a very specific role, that of seeing through the clutter whatever threatens our survival. We are genetically wired to be negative and not to see opportunity, but to see our threats and what can hurt us.

How do you think you are at paying attention? Do you think you can take your limited bandwidth of perceptual ability and focus it? Let’s test it. I’m going to show you a 30 second video. I want you to count how many passes the white shirt team makes[5]. Here we go;

                                                            The answer is 15 but that’s not what’s important. How many                                               of you saw the gorilla walk into the center, beat its chest and                                               then walk off?

How many of you are saying, “what gorilla?” I’m glad that some of you did actually see the gorilla because you can verify that I’m playing the same video. Now let’s watch it again but this time don’t count any passes, just watch the video.

[those who didn’t see the gorilla will see it this time]

I’ll let you make your own application of what that means. To me it just shows that we get so bogged down by our daily priorities, interruptions, circumstances that we just don’t see the opportunities that are right in front of us.

When you and I are avoiding uncomfortable activities we are not going that take our narrow bandwidth of perception and see opportunities to take these actions that we hold as “painful”, instead we go into what’s called selective perception. We are going to see our circumstances, our obstacles, our priorities, our interruptions, our stories, our excuses and there’s a word for this process, would you write the word in the blank of # 2, the word is RATIONALIZATION.

 

Rationalization is what you mean when you say I am my biggest competitor. Rationalization is internal dialogue. How many of you have internal dialogue. I want to give you a metaphor about this internal self talk. Remember the movie Alien, the astronaut is on the spaceship and looks up and the alien creature grabs him by the face and pulls him in and kills him. That is my metaphor for rationalization (hand on face). This is fear based internal dialogue and it almost always ends in the phrase “you’re going to die”.

Here’s an example. I say I’m going to wake up at 3:50 am and go to the gym. I intend to do this, I set the alarm. The alarm rings at 3:50. The alien is asleep on the couch in my bedroom. It wakes up, looks at the clock, freaks out and jumps on my face and starts this conversation, “are you crazy, do you know what time it is, you can’t keep pushing yourself like this you’re going to depress your immune system, your going to die! Stay in bed, stay in bed.

We all have this internal dialogue. I want you to experience the limiting aspect of human natures fear based internal dialogue. All I need to do to have you experience this is to put you in a circumstance where you will associate an action with pain, or being uncomfortable, or embarrassing. Are you willing to compete?

Here is what I’m going to ask you to do. When I say “ready set go” I want you to scream as loud as you possibly can these four words, “fear is a lie”. Scream as loud as you can like your life depends on it.

How many of you are already thinking “I’m not going to do it!”

How many of you are thinking “I’ll do it loud enough that he doesn’t bother me but I’m not going to scream as loud as I can”

Go ahead and take your right hand and put it right on your face. That’s the alien. When I say pull it off take if off. It will make a popping sound and try to get right back on but keep it off. Ok, pull it off now! Feel it trying to get right back on? You might want to name it when you get home. Ok the words are fear is a lie and the cue is ready set go. Now before we do this, who is in control of the choices you make?

You think you are in control? What do you really control? The temperature in your car, the volume on the radio, whos’ in control.

What comes after this: “Who let the dogs out!” [audience woofs five times]

How do you know that? Why do you know that? Did you practice drill and rehearse to learn that? You learned this because you were exposed to it. Your permission and awareness were not necessary for you to know this, simply being exposed to it was all that was necessary. What are you exposed to on a daily basis? Negativity, complaining clients, uncertain market conditions, scandals from trusted leaders.

Ok here we go, ready set go! [audience shouts fear is a lie]

100% of the room held back. Why is that? Because the activity of shouting as loud as you can was linked to being embarrassed, or uncomfortable or bringing undue attention onto yourself and your brain linked that to a threat and compelled you to avoid by holding back.

Here is a tough love question for you. Where else in your life are you holding back? What price are you paying? The hold back is based on fear.

I’m going to play this song. It’s public property on the internet. The alien thinks that it must survive and if you pull it off it’s got to get right back on your face to protect you.

Here it is, the Alien Song[6].

 

Here are some notes for you. The purpose of rationalization is to _________ [protect me] it protects me from feeling guilty about not doing what I said I would do. How does it work? Rationalization is a ________________[justification of avoidance].

What I’m about to put on the screen is the answer to what controls you. This is so powerful it is considered to be a universal law.

This is what motivates all people.

The best way to describe this is to talk about my own personal circumstance. I have adhd and bulimia. The way that I control my adhd is with structure and routine. I wake up at 3:50 am and go to the gym. I have my stair master machine that I work out on and if someone is on my machine that upsets me. I have my locker that I use and the lane that I swim in and the area in the hot tub that I use. When I go to breakfast  I say it’s either going to be a great day or an ok day. What’s the criteria, if someone is sitting in my booth the best it can be is an ok day!

 

When I’m on the road I lose my routine. I was having a problem with the mini bar at the hotel. I’m going to tell this story as if it just happened but it happened about 27 years ago. I was traveling cross country from California to the east coast. I was starving. All I had to eat is what they serve you on the airplane. Can we talk about this? They gave me a bagel this big! They gave me a box of raisins this big. I thought that people would think that I was exaggerating so I kept them and took a picture.

 

I was starving. When I walked into the hotel room my brain did what it was genetically coded to do, ensure that I recognized the highest level of perceived pain and avoided it for the comfort. Remember, all human performance is the avoidance of pain or the seeking of comfort.

When I walked into the room my mind perceived the pain of the hunger. What makes it into my limited perceptual bandwidth, the solution to my hunger which was the mini bar. I walked over to the mini bar and the first thing I saw was a bag of M & M’s. There was so much love in that bag then I saw some candy bars and some cookies, and potato chips, nuts and I ate everything and I mean everything in the mini bar, then I had a diet Coke!

 

Then I realized that I just had an episode of bulimia. I thought I had overcome bulimia but I just binged over 5,000 calories. It was at this point in my life that something significant happened to me over 27 years ago. It was the way that I responded to this binge. It was the first time that I didn’t go victim and blame everyone else for my problems. I said it’s me. My whole life is avoiding pain and seeking comfort. I wasn’t successful in my health, my business or my personal life. I surrendered.

On my next trip something happened. I told 5 people that if I go into the mini bar on this trip I will give them each $250.00. Add it up that’s $1,200.00 if I go into the mini bar. I fly cross country. I am starving. What does my narrow bandwidth of perceptual ability lock onto, my hunger! What makes it into my awareness, the mini bar!

As I walk over to the mini bar something else happens. My brain continues to do what it has been wired to do for over 5 million years, make sure that I am noticing and avoiding the highest level of perceived pain. When I get to the mini bar my brain pays attention to the $1250 and I step away and it was easy!

I went from believing that the truth was that I just couldn’t control my weight to having it be a non issue. Here is a coaching commandment for you. Where in your life do you need to let go, to surrender? Here’s another one, what lies are you buying into?

I had a specific declaration, not going into the mini bar, plus accountability the fine of $1250 and that is a dynamic called behavioral contracting. That is the one take away that has a chance to take this from entertainment to impact.

Let’s look at this elite performance formula;

 

The take away is to use behavioral contracting. This means to make a specific declaration of an activity that you give your word you will do and then to pair it with a consequence for non performance. This taps into the human genetic wiring of avoiding pain and seeking comfort. Human nature will compel you to avoid the highest level of perceived pain which is the consequence. How do you avoid it? By doing what you said you would do!

Here is the application. You’re hearing this on Wednesday, June 8th. Let’s keep to a seven day time period which is from the moment you wake up on Monday until the time you go to sleep on Sunday. Since you’re here on Wednesday, this leaves 5 days for you to make a commitment and to execute it or honor the consequence. As long as the pain of the penalty is greater than the pain of the activity you will take the action of avoiding the highest level of perceived pain which will be the consequence for nonperformance.

This brings us up to our break (90 min.) the second part of the program I will give you some communication skills that will give you a near expert level as a coach. I will teach you how to bring this back to your organization for your teams and also for you. We will partner up and implement behavioral contracting plus the two new skills that you will learn after the break. Let’s take a short ten minute break.

Program II Implementation

 

Welcome back.

The first thing I want to do is to give you some communication skills that can dramatically improve your ability to have an influence on your own behavior and others.

It’s a simple communication skill called Precision Probing. It’s easy because you already know it. You already know who, what , when , where, forget the why and just add the word SPECIFICALLY.  This has an amazing impact in helping a person to get clarity around what they want and what they need to do to have what they want. When you are in a conversation with someone and they say for example that they are going to exercise. You don’t know what you’re holding them accountable to until you clarify, how much

specifically, when specifically, where, etc.

You can use your hand as a metaphor. In the palm of the hand are two very powerful pattern interruptions. When someone says “I can’t do something” interrupt with “what would happen if you could” or “what prevents you from doing this?” Just remember to ask blank specifically and use who, what, when, where.

The next skill is a communication coaching skill that I teach coaches to use with their clients. It puts the responsibility right where it should be with the client. You will need to fight through your tendency to solve the other person’s problems and let them come up with their own solutions. I’m going to give you three coaching phrases that will make a significant difference in your conversation with them. Here they are.

 

  1. Tell me more.
  2. What are your options?
  3. What will you do?

 

That’s it. Take the third one and put it into a behavioral contract with a specific commitment and consequence for non performance.

I would like to get into groups of 3, A B and C. Go ahead and arrange yourselves. Next I’d like for you to rate yourself in terms of your current results in your health, business and personal lives. Go ahead and just put a number on each line.

 

Now here is the coaching rotation. We will go for 5 minutes with A being the coach, B is the client, and C is the observer. Just follow what you see on the screen;

 

Ok, your objective is to have at least one behavioral contract. One activity that you will be held accountable to accomplish with a consequence if you don’t. You will have 5 minutes. I will tell you when you have two minutes left.

Let’s begin now. [stop at two minutes left and introduce two new concepts, why the stick versus the carrot and what stops behavioral contracting.

 

We are motivated to keep what we already have rather than to get something else. A dollar lost in the stock market will hurt more than that pleasure of a dollar gained. This is why the penalty will drive performance rather than the promise of a reward or the carrot.

There are three stops to behavioral contracting. The first one is that the person is satisfied. They are not motivated to improve. The second is that they are unrealistic with their commitments and the third is the non enforcement of the consequences.

Ok you’ve got two minutes left in this rotation. Let’s get this person’s behavioral contract in place with the consequence for non performance and how it’s going to be enforced.

[time 2 minutes]

Speaker goes at random from group to group asking who was the client, who was the coach, what are you being held accountable to do and what is the consequence for non performance and how will it be enforced. Discussion about the criteria for making commitments, realistic, specific, discussion of the consequences for about ten minutes then the beginning of the second rotation, repeat for three rotations.

Ok now let change the rotation ….

Now for some last comments. There was a study completed of the genetic coding of a chimpanzee and a human being. It was found that there was only a 1.2% difference or a 98.8% identical similarity between the dna of a chimp and a human. However of course there is a significant difference in the final outcome. 211 degrees is hot but one more degree boils water.

An average baseball player hits 250 which is 3 hits every 12 times at bat and makes about a million dollars. The superstar hits 333 which is only one more hit every 12 times at bat and makes about 24 million. The super star is a little bit better.

That’s my message to you, be a little bit better. Do one thing this week that you ordinarily would not have done. Then one more thing next week and so on. It’s the law of accumulative effect that will have something significant occur. I love this sign;

 

[read slide to audience]

Every month I host a free telephone conference coaching call and you are invited. The next call is Tuesday, June 14th. It is my way to give back to audiences who want to stay connected. The number is on the top of this slide.

Let me know how else I can be of service to you.

Remember to contact your partner at the end of the week regarding their commitment.

Bob Davies


[1] Dr. Stanley, “The Millionaire Mind”, pg. 51

[2] Optical Illusions, Gyles Brandreth, Michael DiSpezio, page 94

[3] M.Ed. Psychology, Springfield College, Springfield Ma. USA

[4] Psychology, 4th Edition, Robert Silverman page 129 photo of rat on grid.

[5] Daniel Simons, Christopher Chabris, 1999, as seen on news.yahoo.com

[6] Victor Navone, 1999 as seen on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eim5jLlEPYI

About Bob Davies

Author, speaker, trainer, coach To view a 7-minute video of a Bob Davies keynote presentation go to www.bobdavies.com To hear a 45-minute audio interview of Bob Davies go to: http://www.bobdavies.com/philosophy.html To view a 3:15 minute video of Bob discussing the limits of human perception, observation and the "gorilla" go to www.bobdavies.com To view YouTube videos go to http://www.youtube.com/bobdavies7#p/u/5/gmOVAxNzu04 Bob Davies, Presenting The 1.2% Factor at MDRT in 2011 Bob Davies, named in the top 100 greatest minds of personal development world-wide by Excellence Magazine Bob Davies, M.Ed. Psychology, Springfield College, B.S. Health, Rutgers University. M.C.C. Master Certified Coach, International Coach Federation #1013 High Performance Training, Inc. 20992 Ashley Lane Lake Forest, Ca. 92630 World Wide 949-830-9192 Domestic Toll Free 866-262-3284 www.bobdavies.com email info@bobdavies.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

